Cleaning Out the Closets

Matthew 11:28-29 (NIV)

   28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Isn’t it refreshing when Holy Spirit wakes you up early to spend some time with Him? Growing up, I was never a Morning person. Some days, I still feel I’m not, but that part of my life, I believe, is beginning to come to a close. Holy Spirit has been working with me on that and I am becoming more grateful for it. As I go through the day, I really try to stay focused on having an open-ended conversation with Him, because He is my help and if I get distracted, I know He is there to guide me and comfort me when needed.

“@scrupulousgirl  A heavy burden may be a sign that you’re chasing after the wrong thing. Let Jesus carry the load. His burden is light. #See Matthew 11:28-29″

Sometimes, while I’m busy focused on work or tasks at home, the Holy Spirit will reveal to me a burden that I’ve been carrying that has gone on too long and I need to let go of. Part of managing our lives is the ability to get our attention and display His patience that passes our understanding! The good news is that while I have been acknowledging the issue that was made very clear to me this morning to let go of, I’m finally ready to put it in it’s place and let Jesus carry the load. He never asks us to carry the weight of the world on our shoulders, no matter what the issue at hand might be. The more important task is that once we give up the problem, we need to be very careful to not take it back.

Before going to sleep last night, I watched Pastor Steven Furtick, from Elevation Church, via Roku, preaching his current Sermon Series, Gray Matter. The topic was He’s Big Enough for Both (Dumb Dichotomies) One of Pastor Furtick’s quotes that I took from the Sermon and Tweeted is “Is your obedience to God conditional or unconditional?” This morning, as I was reviewing some of my Tweets from yesterday and last night, I got to thinking more indepth about that quote. I think it applies here easily. If I take back the burden I lifted off of myself this morning, that means I don’t trust God to handle it. What I’d like to see in the future is His blessing and reward, because I know that He can and I need to continue trusting that He is able to do far more than we can think or ask!

Ephesians 3:20 Amplified Bible (AMP)
20Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]–

Is there anything that you’re holding on to that you need to let go of and trust Jesus with it? He did not create us to carry any burdens alone. He is our comforter and gives us peace, joy, understanding. What’s the worst thing that could happen if you trust your Savior to handle the things you cannot change? Mark 1:41, Matthew 8:3 and Luke 5:13 all give an account of where Jesus stretched out His hand to the Leper and cleansed the man. I encourage you to go read the full text of this story and learn about how Jesus is willing to stretch out His hand to us to show compassion and willingness to help those in need. Remember, once you let go of something and give it to Him, don’t take it back. You might block your blessing and Jesus gives fantastic gifts! Selah!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

