Learning to Walk

Isaiah 30:21 (NIV)

21 Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

I haven’t written in almost (10) days. It feels a little odd to be here this morning. I don’t feel like I’m out in the Wilderness, because I know that the Wilderness is not God’s destination for me. I am highly intuitive and very self-aware of myself in my own environment,  knowing what is causing me to be off kilter. I am also someone who internalizes everything and usually slow to speak, providing I haven’t allowed my emotions to get the best of me. That is something I’ve really been asking God to help me be less of lately, emotional. I hate that I wear my heart on my sleeve. I rather be more logical and loving, caring, but able to manage myself through God’s eye with His hand on me. That’s the change I want to be in myself. Less of me, more of His good work. He is the Author and Finisher of my faith. (See Hebrews 12:2, Amplified & Matthew 11:28)

“@scrupulousgirlGod knows how to manage us & can get our attention so that we stay focused on Him. If we don’t have faith, He will work through our weakness.”

When you’re not saved, you have less ability to stabilize yourself. People are searching for stability through co-dependency on other people, in drugs and alcohol or sex and other addictions; gambling, being a workaholic, shopping, food, etc. Having relationship with Jesus keeps the environment stable. If a “storm” invades your life, He is there to protect and comfort you. If you use drugs and alcohol as your comfort it simply drains you of yourself. You stop being you and allow the poison that consumes you to run your life. Shopping addictions can bankrupt you, leaving you in debt and unable to financially care for yourself and or your family. If we take on too much of the World, it leaves less space for the Light of the World to come in.

1 John 1:5-6 This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 6 If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.

You may or may not know that one of my favorite Devotional books is ‘Pursuit of His Presence,’ by Kenneth & Gloria Copeland. As I was reading the March 16th devotion last night before I went to sleep, several things came together, personally, of spiritual conversation of things I had either seen Tweeted, read about or heard through preachers on TBN the past few days. The ‘Pursuit of His Presence’ book is setup so that every other day, one Devotion is written by Kenneth and the following day by Gloria and vice versa. 1 John 1:5-6 (above) was the segue into the writing. The title is “No Shades of Gray.” Kenneth writes, “The sad thing is, many Christians who are walking in unforgiveness don’t know they’re in darkness. They think because they read their Bibles and say “Amen” at church, they’re in fellowship with God.”

1 John 2:11
11 But anyone who hates a brother or sister is in the darkness and walks around in the darkness. They do not know where they are going, because the darkness has blinded them.

God knows how to manage us and He knows how to get our attention. I meditated on the devotion above for a bit, as there is small group of people in my life that I need to be more merciful toward and forgive their treatment of me (not ignore it, but forgive and release it), but at the same time careful that I don’t allow them to weed out the Light in my life and cause me to start walking in shades of gray. We can carry our Light (Jesus) with us every place we go, but we don’t have to conform to the people around us and dig into and take on their mess in order to fit in. If you don’t fit in some place, it’s Ok to step back and reexamine your position with that person or group of people.

I had to laugh because God really does know exactly what we need. I don’t read all of my devotions every single day. I like to look at different ones and sometimes I don’t even read the one specifically marked by the Author for that Date on the Calendar, but yesterday’s Joyce Meyer March 16th devotion from  her ‘New Day, New You’ book spoke heavily to me. I read it directly after the Copeland writing. The segue verse to the devotion was Galations 5:16, below.

Galatians 5:16
Amplified Bible (AMP)
16But I say, walk and live [habitually] in the [Holy] Spirit [responsive to and controlled and guided by the Spirit]; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh (of human nature without God).

Earlier in the week, I had listened to Joyce Meyer and John Hagee through some of their shows on TBN. What was reinforced for me is that God doesn’t want us to have Him sitting on the sidelines of our lives. We can’t operate in our own strength. He didn’t build us for that. He did not make us robots. We have Free will to make choices, but without His Divine protection, without going deeper in our walk with the King of Kings, we will get off balance. During this transition towards Easter, I’ve become very aware of things I wished I had paid more attention to on a level I feel like I should have been conscious of years ago. There are times where I feel like I still have my Training wheels on, and I think that’s Ok, but Jesus has called on us to get out of the boat and focus on Him!

God did not call us to be perfect. We’re all at different levels of faith or no faith, in life. I’m in my early 40s and I was saved at 15 years old. You might think I ought to have no balancing problems, but I do. I’m still learning, every day to allow Him to transform me into the woman He has called me to be, and I am enjoying getting to know that girl. If I allow Satan to keep me busy, I can’t hear from the Holy Spirit and if Jesus calls on me to step out of the boat, where is my faith? It must be strengthened in Him so that I don’t become like Peter and get distracted. Philippians 4:13 is one of my favorite verses. It says in the Amplified, “I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who [a]infuses inner strength into me; I am [b]self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].” When we walk in Christ and stay at His side, we can pull others up in their faith or lead them to faith, if they are unsaved and or back-slidden.

My encouragement for you today is to remind you to not become so busy you can’t hear from the Holy Spirit. Where will your measure of faith be when Jesus comes to gather us up? He will come like a Thief in the night. No one knows the hour.

“Focus on the Lord. Your breakthrough is on the way! When frustration comes on you, press in & stay calm. Blessing is coming for your obedience” Beth @scrupulougirl

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

