A Silent Night

Psalm 30:5 Amplified Bible (AMP)

5For His anger is but for a moment, but His favor is for a lifetime or in His favor is life. Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.

Silence is powerful!  Did you miss me while I was gone? On Friday afternoon, God called me to a vow of silence in my writing for the Blog. I was to Enter His Thanksgiving, with rest on Sunday! Obedience. He was craving my rest, my attention so that He could refine me. I had a fantastic Weekend! I hope you and your family did as well. I have left some details of my Weekend out of this post, because otherwise, it was going to be way too long-winded.

Women crave attention. I know firsthand. In my singleness, I’ve been an attention-whore. Had I stayed in God’s rest, I wouldn’t have gone through so many uncommitted acquaintances that I was dying to possess their friendship. God brought me to a place where only Grace could move me through it. It was the suicide attempt I mentioned in another post. I firmly believe that God is using this season in my life as a time to refine, reshape, repair and restore me. I garnered a new Vocabulary when I became newly saved, but now as I remain submerged in His Word, I want to stay faithfully obedient to keep His good Word on my tongue. He has called us to do so.

My first introduction to Pastor Craig Groeschel was via the TBN Broadcast of the Code Orange Revival earlier last week put on by Elevation Church. Craig was the 1st of (12) Speakers. TBN Broadcasted another couple of nights of the Code Orange Revival this past Saturday night and I got to see Jentzen Franklin, who was absolutely on fire!

On Saturday morning, Holy Spirit had me up preparing my last Post at 3:15am and Publishing it just prior to 6:00am. I went about my way starting to get breakfast together and find the news or something on TBN. I had forgotten Cartoons would be on, so thankfully, I had some Season pass items saved on Tivo to watch. I had my own plans, I had a schedule. I was going to eat, watch a little TV and go back to sleep, even if it was only for an hour. Turns out, Holy Spirit had something else in mind.

“The real life that you’re looking for is with God and it’s not for sale.” Dr. David Jeremiah

While I was rushing around trying to get something to eat and get comfortable on the sofa, in front of the TV, the Holy Spirit kept feeding me. He continued to speak a new message, the post for today (Monday) to me. I thought to myself “haven’t I done enough?” I’ve been up since 3:15a with just shy of (4) hours sleep and you want me to write more? It had not been hardly 20 or 30 minutes since I published the Post for Saturday. What more could I write? He continued to tug at my heart for an additional 15 minutes. I must have moved between the sofa and the computer 4 or 5 times to type-up notes about what the message would be about. God gives His manna (food) when He is ready. Spoon-fed, Cornbread-fed, Trough-fed, Abba, feed me!

I went upstairs a short while later and I laid down to sleep, but wasn’t quite ready. As I was laying there, my  mind wondered to thinking about the Code Orange Revival I had seen on Monday the 20th when Craig Groeschel spoke. I remembered they introduced him as the Pastor of LifeChurch.tv and I was intrigued, because I knew he was on Roku, but I’d never taken the time to look at that channel, even though I had already downloaded it back in January. If you don’t know what Roku is, it’s a little Hockey puck sized box that delivers On-demand only Internet programming. I turned on a previous Sermon from Pastor Craig called “Emotional Strength.”

Initially, I was a little turned off, because the sermon was to be directed towards men, specifically, but I cannot express how much I learned and resonated with the message. Craig spoke from the book of Judges and discussed Samson‘s story. Pastor Craig explained how men act on things and women are more emotional. As I look over my life, I can see glimpses of where men took charge of a situation and when they were so emotional it made me uncomfortable. I prefer men who are emotionally stable; pillars, like Jesus who was not interrupted in his sleep by the storm, in the stern of the boat (See  Mark 4:35-40). I am grateful that programming like LifeChurch.tv is available!

Fast forward to Saturday afternoon. I felt lead to go pop-in on a family friend who has known my family for almost 25 years. I am not a fan of having the pop-in done to me, but the Holy Spirit was leading me to move. I knew Jane was running errands earlier, but I wanted to catch her before her Einstein, so I needed to get going. When I pulled-up to the house, there was already a car in the driveway and I  got that feeling, “ggrrrr, I knew I shouldn’t have come by without telling her I was coming or checking to see if she had other plans.” I went ahead and rang the doorbell. To my delight, Jane was there with her son, who was making some Tax preparations.

It had been quite a while since I had seen Martin in person, so Jane helped us get reacquainted. Queue the Harp music! This is where the divine appointment comes in! After our brief reintroduction, Martin inquired as to how a particular friend was doing. Under normal circumstances, I would have caved into a river of tears. Being a man of God, Martin said let’s pray! He asked me to come close and he put his right arm around my back and shoulder and his left arm around his mother and he prayed out loud for the restoration of relationship! If you’ve been reading along, you know what praying  out loud means to  me. Personally, I am uncomfortable doing so for other people. I haven’t found that voice yet, but Martin was bold and he knew that I needed prayer. He was able to act when I was trying to harness my emotions. Thank you, Martin for tending to my needs. You are a blessing!

“@scrupulousgirl: What if your “Bucket List” had an item on it 1. See all of my immediate family & other extended family & friends come to salvation in Jesus.”

Have you ever wanted to have a relationship with someone and it just never seems to come together? Sometimes, that is how people respond to Jesus. They get a warm fuzzy when they go to Church, or they see something good happen to someone they know, but they continue to grieve the Holy Spirit and not act on His invitation for relationship. You can pray for people! Even if you do not see an outward change immediately, know this, God is working.

Matthew 6:6-8 (NIV)

6 But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 7 And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. 8 Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

During my fast, I have begun to notice how powerful His grace has become to allow me to forget the past, not focus on tomorrow and stabilize myself into today. For a reference of forgetting the past, I will direct the newly saved to Paul’s letter in Philippians 3:12-16.

If there is someone in your life with whom  you’ve been silent towards or vice versa, remember this; we’re different and that’s what makes us special. Grace will move when the time is right. I needed the Divine appointment that God setup for me on Saturday afternoon. I’m fortunate enough to have had another on Sunday. My obedience to the Holy Spirit’s call for silence in my writing and to enter His rest honored God. You may have to be the one to make the first move to break the silence.  If you submit to God’s plan, I promise He will reward you in the open!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

