Enter His Rest

Psalm 100:4 Amplified Bible (AMP)

4Enter into His gates with thanksgiving and a thank offering and into His courts with praise! Be thankful and say so to Him, bless and affectionately praise His name!

Nap-time… Does it stir happy moments? Ha! As a Toddler, perhaps not. For Adults, YES! When you look back over the course of your life, I bet you can pinpoint a moment in time, whether it was in High School or College where you knew if you didn’t catch-up with your sleep you would have trouble. Yesterday, I pointed you to a verse that warns us about trouble. Here’s a brief reminder:

John 16:33 (NIV)

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

My earliest memory of napping is from when I was in Kindergarten. Sometimes, I attended an after-school-care program when my mom had things to do that required me to stay late so that she could have some peace and attend to the business at hand and not have me to fuss over. I HATED nap-time at the after-school-care program. I remember laying there, fidgeting. trying my best to stay quiet, to not bother any of the other kids or get an evil-eye from one of the teachers. I’m not sure why I remember this one day so clearly, but the teacher acknowledged my awakened state and allowed me to come sit at the table and if I promised to be quiet, I could sit there and color. YES! I had made it off of that uncomfortable plastic mat. I had found a way to get what I wanted. I was back in my comfort zone.

My dad regularly takes what many people, regardless of age, call an Einstein. It’s generally defined as a brief period of restful sleep in the middle of the day or early evening that refreshes you. Both my brother and I are also quite fond of naps. My mom generally only naps if she’s not feeling well, which is rare! She always has a good report!

I had a nap last night, actually. Yesterday morning, the Holy Spirit woke me at 4:30a to write, as He has done for the past week. There have been a few times when I lost sleep in order to forward the Message of God’s Love to all of you. On Monday the 20th, I wrote (3) separate Posts. I didn’t go to sleep at my normal bed-time that night. I was amped up. My adrenaline was roaring for God and to embrace this journey He steadied my feet for! Holy spirit let me sleep from Midnight until 4:00am Tuesday. (4) Hours, LORD?! Oh yes, He was as eager to refresh me as I was craving to be obedient. Fast forward to last night, the 24th. God had woken me up at 4:30a and I realized I had Tunnel vision. There was nothing that was going to get in my way yesterday morning to get His good Word out. I acknowledged the unplanned Fast was in full effect.

Happily surprised, I busted out (2) Posts yesterday. I already had a sense for what the first was to be about, but the second came as a surprise. I was thankful for the time I had to release His good Word creeping up in my spirit. As Lunch-time approached, I was weary. I had been up since 4:30a. My mom will testify that growing up, I was not a morning person! So for her to witness where Holy Spirit has me today must be exhilarating. Some time in the late afternoon, not long after I had written the 2nd Post, I felt God giving me permission to have a nap in preparation to watch Bishop T.D. Jakes’ Let It Go Live Webcast, that was scheduled for 02/24 7:00pm. What I hadn’t accounted for was that it was Central, not Eastern time Ha Ha Ha! See how God changes our plans?

As I was wrapping up my night, after watching Jentzen Franklin on TBN‘s Broadcast of the Code Orange Revival from Elevation Church (Jentzen was the 2nd of (12) speakers) my friend, Brian, and I were briefly chatting about napping and how good God is when He brings us to REST. The funny thing is that within moments of closing out that conversation, Holy Spirit spoke to me again. I was overcome with gladness and joy unspeakable. I knew He was blessing me with the topic for the Saturday Post. Doesn’t it just give you a warm-fuzzy? Ha Ha! He is faithful; He closes the deal! This is a big deal for me. A responsibility I never dreamed I would hold for bringing the Word of God to the nations and people are responding! As I turned out the lights and began heading upstairs, just as my foot was about to ascend the 1st step, He spoke into my spirit the verse for the top of the post! God reminded me to “Enter His Gates With Thanksgiving!” Whew!

Here’s what I found in my Smith Wigglesworth Devotional THIS morning, before I was preparing to log-on and write. It is key!

“You cannot take people into the depths of God unless you have been broken yourself…. There is a rest of faith that rests in the confidence of God. God’s promises never fail.” Smith Wigglesworth

The below verses tell us that God never rests. Our natural bodies cannot afford to go without resting. This Article link from Wikipedia defines the issues of Sleep deprivation.

2 Chronicles 16:9 AMP For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth to show Himself strong in behalf of those whose hearts are blameless toward Him….

Psalm 121:3 ESV He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.

Proverbs 15:3 NIV The eyes of the LORD are everywhere, keeping watch on the wicked and the good.

With all of the work of Spiritual Warfare going on, can you imagine if God slept? What if He didn’t have Legions of Angels on His side? Merriam-Websters defines Legion as

1: the principal unit of the Roman army comprising 3000 to 6000 foot soldiers with cavalry
2: a large military force;
Will you take the King of Kings and LORD of Lords up on His offer and rest? If we’re too busy, we can’t hear from Him. The Bible says in Luke 10:41-42 (NIV)   41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[a] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” We’ve got to stop being so distracted. Jesus, Himself, alerted Martha that she was too busy! Martha was so busy trying to pull the house together, she almost missed Him! I encourage you to go back and pick-up Luke 10:38-40 when you have time so that you have a full concept of the story. Have you missed Jesus before? If you have, then get some revelation that you need to slow down and refocus. I know that you’re probably thinking to yourself that it must be nice for a single person with no kids to be able to not be so distracted with children and a spouse, other extended family tugging on you all of the time. Guess what? You may have to get up 5 minutes earlier and pray! You can talk to God throughout the day, in fact, that is preferable! We need to stop buying into Satan’s excuses that we don’t have enough time for God. If you have time to spend on Facebook, Twitter, Farmville, Wii, XBox360, etc., you have time for God!
Almighty God is calling people to be a part of His End-times Army. Do you have the courage to wear the Armor of God, mentioned in Ephesians 6:10-18? Where is your faith?

Luke 8:25 Contemporary English Version (CEV)

25Then Jesus asked the disciples, “Don’t you have any faith?” But they were frightened and amazed. They said to each other, “Who is this? He can give orders to the wind and the waves, and they obey him!”

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

