Who Is Scratching Your Back?

Psalm 91:1-2 Amplified Bible (AMP)  HE WHO [a] dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall remain stable and fixed under the shadow of the Almighty [Whose power no foe can withstand]. I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I [confidently] trust!

My mom and dad love to travel. In the late ’90s, my mom brought back
from the Vermont Country store one of my most favorite gifts. It’s a back scratcher. It’s Ok, you can laugh. I did! As she handed over the gift wrapped bag, she said “It’s a single person’s best friend.”…. GULP! I had to curtail my thoughts and imagination. Satan was causing me to have some bad ones, Ha ha! I was glad it was just the (2) of us in the Kitchen at the time. Little did I know how much I would treasure that back-scratcher. Could my mom have known about my favorite corner
of the wall by the bathroom where I would go rub my back anytime I had
an itch? I never told her, so the gift came as a surprise. The telescoping back-scratcher is a gift EVERYone should have, not just for singles. It is one of those gifts I think of her every time I use it! Thank you, Mom!

Throughout my whole life, my mom has scratched my back. She does so in many ways, but best by pointing me to Jesus. If I have a question or concern, she asks me if I prayed. Depending on the situation, I probably thought about praying, but didn’t. If I hadn’t, she would pray for and with me over the phone. That is God’s way of teaching me to keep trusting Him for the resolution to my problem. I also have learned how to pray by listening to her. I know I need to go to Him first, but she loves to pray and I love to listen!

Something I have trouble with is praying out loud. My mom recently shared with me that she prayed for a little girl with a back problem at
the Grocery store. She had overheard the little girl talking with someone
saying she was in pain. My mom went to the girl and asked if she could
pray for her and the little girl said yes and Mom prayed out loud! That is God scratching the little girl’s back. I pray that God surrounds that little girl with more Christians who are willing to pray for and show her Christ’s love. I thank my Mom for her boldness! I know God will bless her for being obedient and listening to the nudge of the Holy Spirit speaking to her to speak words of life over a stranger. But Christ is no stranger to the afflicted. He wants to heal and He will and can heal us if we let Him! My God is a God of Miracles!

The Bible has many verses on healing. I’ve already written a Post  about a personal experience with healing, but will get more in-depth at some point. Whether you are single, dating, engaged or married, God has put
someone in your life who needs a back-scratcher today. Can you think
of anyone who you can bless and honor Him by being His hands and
feet? Be a blessing to someone. We all have family members and neighbors, co-workers, bosses and people with rough exteriors that we
come across when we’re out running errands. The World may say
“You’re paying it forward,” or call it “Random Acts of Kindness. Let God
work through you to scratch the back of another believer or unbeliever. We all need His love!

1 Peter 3:8 (NIV) Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Is Scratching Your Back?

  1. bobbi jackson says:

    I love your writing, Beth—-what a talent. Keep it up & many lives will be changed!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL bobbi

  2. poems140 says:

    What a nice way to put it! I have a back-scratcher here too. It seems a back always itches where you can’t scratch it! Good parallel to someones needs! My mom was a prayer warrior too! 🙂
    lewis http://www.lightenload.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

