Lent February 22, 2012 – April 7, 2012

In a January 5th 2012 Tweet from @JoyceMeyer, she writes “God never leads us to busy ourselves so much that we’re stressed out all the time and have no joy.”

What is Lent? From Mary Fairchild’s About.com Article ‘What is Lent

  • Lent is the Christian season of preparation before Easter. In Western Christianity, Ash Wednesday marks the first day, or the start of the season of Lent, which begins 40 days prior to Easter (Sundays are not included in the count).
  • Lent in 2012 will start on Wednesday, the 22nd of February and will continue for 46 days until Saturday, the 7th of April.
  • Lent is a time when many Christians prepare for Easter by observing a period of fasting, repentance, moderation and spiritual discipline. The purpose is to set aside time for reflection on Jesus Christ – his suffering and his sacrifice, his life, death, burial and resurrection.

Choosing to fast or mediate on your walk with Christ and set new goals is a personal choice. I believe people put a lot of pressure on themselves (similar to New Years Resolutions) and miss God’s call or whispers from the Holy Spirit to act on what is spiritually being spoken to them and cave to the peer pressure for going with the crowd and giving up Chocolate for 40 days.

If you choose to participate and acknowledge the season of Lent, do so in a way that honors God. The ending Celebration for Lent is Easter. That is the time we praise God that the One we adore and serve has risen and is no longer in the tomb! Jesus isn’t in that grave anymore! He has overcome! As you mediate on the choice to fast or make changes in your spiritual life, I would encourage you to not spend time beating yourself up if you stumble. God knows we’re not perfect. None of us are. If you stumble in your decision to avoid dessert with your meal for the next 46 days, His grace will be there to guide and protect you! The Bible tells us in Ephesians 1:6 to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved. You already know God’s mercies are new every morning. (See Lamentations 3:22 – 23).

I have been praying and asking the Lord to lead me to something that will honor and please Him as we move towards Easter. I believe part of His answer began 6 months or so ago when I became more active on Twitter. Initially, I was only following other Tweeters and not Tweeting myself. Through the process I spoke about in my “Introduction” Post below, I have become a bold leader and confidently able to be a representative for Christ in the Public eye. My Heavenly Father wants my boldness and He is sending me out into the World so that others can see the good work going on in my life. God used my fellow Christian brothers, Rick & Brian (@emanatingjoy & @TheBrianMo ) to encourage and pray for me to get into the Spotlight and start this Blog. God, it is my prayer as I move through this upcoming season of Lent that I will honor you with my thoughts, actions and the words I speak and keep you as my Center and not be moved by my circumstances.

In the upcoming season of Lent, I will choose to not be so busy that I miss God and the celebration of His Son, Jesus, who has risen from the dead. If you watched the Home-Going for Whitney Houston this past Saturday, as a Believer, you know that God is moving. If you do not know Jesus as your personal savior yet, I pray that you won’t miss the Holy spirit speaking to you. I will leave you with a Tweet I composed and sent this morning.

  • Don’t let the spirit of Whitney Houston’s HomeGoing leave you breathless. Take in the fullness of God. He is moving & Jesus will return.

You can see both Rick & Brian’s Blogs here on WordPress as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lent February 22, 2012 – April 7, 2012

  1. Rick Stassi says:

    Thank you for the mention, Beth. I still pray for the Lord to lead me to something that will honor Him. It is a life-long process. I am up for it with joy.
    In Jesus

    Rick

Leave a Reply

