I was the Black sheep

John 10:10 Amplified Bible (AMP)

10The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it [a]overflows).

For some twenty years the voice inside of me kept rehearsing this message, over and over and over again… “I’m the black sheep.” I had strayed away from God at that point in my life when I received and held on to the lie, so I did not yet know that I have the power to choose my thoughts. If I had only kept Jesus as my focus…

I remember last Fall (2011) how happy I was when the Holy Spirit gave me the revelation that I am not the Black sheep or the lamb who went astray. I was joy-filled, overflowing with new-life. That kind of revelation broke chains of emotional, internal bondage away from me that I never dreamed could or would be broken.

We put put awful labels on things. Why don’t we come up with the labels that God has for us? I heard a Sermon by Joel Osteen recently that made me smile. At the time, I knew this Post was coming. I know in my writing here, God is working. He’s making beauty for ashes out of my mess! (See Isaiah 61:3)

“God has some new labels for you. Will you dare wear them? The label He has for you says forgiven, restored, new beginning, beauty for ashes, joy for mourning.” Joel Osteen

I believed that I was the Black sheep of my family because I always went against the grain. I had my own ideas, my own views of who I wanted to be and where I was headed. Both of my parents,  particularly my Mom, would tell you that I was a very strong-willed child. Even after I had accepted Jesus as my Savior as a young teenager, I still pressed forward to carve out my own image and discover who I was. I knew back then I was my own person, and while I wasn’t rejecting the core beliefs of my family and where they came from, I needed to be able to  make mistakes and learn from them and some how, the message I had in my head was that wasn’t ok. I wasn’t going to let anyone, even my parents, control me or put me in a box. My spirit would not be contained. Can you relate?

When we gather together with our families, we tell stories of our childhood and reminisce about good times. I am certain all cultures do that, no matter where on the Planet we’re located.  Sometimes they’re good memories and they make us laugh and sometimes old wounds are opened and we go away wondering why people have to dig up the past. God opens old wounds to teach us things. It’s funny how siblings and parents remember a certain situation. Each having his or her own version. God knows how to manage our lives and bring restoration. He is a healer. He sent Jesus to be a peace-maker and lover of people just like me and you.

I am an avid follower of @JoyceMeyer. She is a fierce “meat-and-potatoes-tell-it-like-it-is” spiritual mother to me. God used Joyce to teach me that I have the power to choose what I’m thinking about. Sometimes we hear a message and we praise Him for the new revelation, but the lesson doesn’t stick immediately. I continued meditating on the fact I have the power to think about what I’m thinking about. If I choose something good to mediate on, then my vocabulary and conversation start lining up with what I’m thinking about. The verse I mentioned above at the beginning of this Post, John 10:10 resonates deeply with me now. God wants me to enjoy my life.

I wasn’t enjoying my life by saying, believing and thinking that I’m the Black sheep of my family. I was the only one saying and believing it. Satan’s attacks are overwhelming at times. He can cloud our thinking with some horrible images, thoughts and beliefs. But God sent Jesus so that we can live life abundantly, to the full and until it overflows! If you’re feeling like an outcast, unwanted, lonely consumed by ideas and beliefs that are destroying you, let go. Give it to the Lord. He will bring restoration to you and your family if need be. Confess it to Him. Have a conversation in prayer with Him.

Put off the old, negative, negative labels that are lies from the Devil. I’m sure there are probably other labels and or images of myself that God wants me to let go of. I don’t call myself the Crazy cat lady anymore, even if some of my neighbors do lol. I got a revelation that I am not the lies I received from myself and other people in my past. Jeremiah 29:11 tells me that God has a good plan for my life. His ways are higher than my ways. Today, I have the power to believe that He restores and He believes in me even when I fail to do so for myself.

Isaiah 61:7 (NIV)

 7 Instead of your shame
you will receive a double portion,
and instead of disgrace
you will rejoice in your inheritance.
And so you will inherit a double portion in your land,
and everlasting joy will be yours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

