What Are you Hungry For?

Revelation 22:17, 20 The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let the one who hears say, “Come!” Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life. He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

On the afternoon of Saturday February 18, 2012, God used International Media outlets to speak through beloved Pastor T.D. Jakes (@BishopJakes) during the Home-Going of Whitney Houston. “God is Love,” was the message that was spoken loud and clear. Millions of people, both non-believers and believers, people from every culture and varied background you can imagine were witnessed to yesterday. Praise God for Pastor Jakes’ obedience to speak what God put in his heart!

On January 13, 1986, Pastor Bryant Wright (@bryantwright), who is the current President of the Southern Baptist Convention, came to visit my parents and me in our home in Marietta, Georgia. Originally, I was brought up in a Presbyterian church. I never heard the Word of the Gospel spoken the way Pastor Bryant brought it to life in my world prior to the Fall of 1985. Shortly ahead of our move from the Presbyterian church to Johnson Ferry Baptist church, I had been seeking God. I didn’t know at the time how he was going to get me “there,” but the evening of January 13th was an already planned event in Heaven.

I’m not sure what caused me to take notice of my mom’s nightly routine before she would go to sleep. I would conveniently find some reason or way to get into visit with her and read her Bible with her. I did not know the terminology for it at the time, but she was having Quiet Time with the Lord. Of course I didn’t mean to interrupt her, but God was drawing me in.

I recall early on in the Fall of 1985 sitting in the back of the Chapel one Sunday morning, listening to Bryant. My parents had their place picked-out, like we all do (these days, they sit towards the front of the House Ha ha). While I could physically see Bryant up front, the message I heard is what began to change my life. I wondered if it was Jesus up there speaking directly to me. I was so drawn in. My almost 15 years old mind was wrestling with the innocence of growing-up and facing a popularity contest at school and being disappointed by people when I was shut out of the group. People began spreading rumors about me that shut me down and locked me out of a dream for having friends. But I had found Jesus! I craved going to see Bryant preach on Sunday. I couldn’t wait to hear what he had to say. I took great joy in spending time with my mom reading her Bible in the evening and asking so many questions. If we had only had Google back then lol! I soon had a Bible of my own and that joyful night also lead to both me and my dad being baptized the same night along with my mom! Unfortunately, my brother wasn’t there. I don’t recall where he was.

I wrote a Tweet recently that said “What if your “Bucket List” had an item on it 1. See all of my immediate family & other close relatives & friends come to salvation in Jesus.” I’m not sure if my brother and my sister-in-law are saved. I’d like to be sure, but we have a terrible relationship so I’d love it if you’re reading this if you would pray. I know Jesus can bring restoration!

 The Bible tells us that no one will come to the Father except through Christ Jesus. John 14:6 “Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”Are you hungry? Are you seeking out something that will change your life? In January, at least in the United States, people put a lot of socialized pressure on themselves and other people to set and obtain goals and then many are reduced to failure. God loves you! He knows that failure is part of life, but His mercies are new every morning! (See Lamentations 3:22, 23 below)

Lamentations 3:22-23 Amplified Bible (AMP)

22It is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His [tender] compassions fail not.    23They are new every morning; great and abundant is Your stability and faithfulness.
Did you make and set a goal to stop smoking, lose weight, be more kind to yourself and your family and or go to church more often? Have you stayed the course and met the goal? If you walk through the narrow gate, His promises for you are new! “God has some new labels for you. Will you dare wear them? The label He has for you says forgiven, restored, new beginning, beauty for ashes, joy for mourning.” Joel Osteen.
I encourage you to renew your focus. If a God-focused life is what you’re seeking, He offers a free gift of salvation. You can’t earn it. All you have to do is invite Elohim, our Mighty Creator, into your heart.
I’ll leave you with a prayer for Salvation found in the back of Gloria Copeland’s pamphlet, ‘No Deposit, No Return.’ If you want to translate the below prayer into another language for a family member or friend, please go to Paralink English Translator and select English and then choose the secondary language to translate into. Cut and past the below verbiage and then send it off to someone you’re praying for or who God leads you to share with.
“Heavenly Father, I come to You in the name of Jesus. Your Word says, “Whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Acts 2:21), I am calling on You. I pray and ask Jesus to come into my heart and be Lord over my life according to Romans 10:9-10: “If thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.” I do that now. I confess that Jesus is Lord, and I believe in my heart that God raised Him from the dead. I am now reborn! I am a Christian– a child of Almighty God! I am saved! You also said in Your Word, “If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: HOW MUCH MORE shall your heavenly father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?” (Luke 11:13). I’m also asking You to fill me with the Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit, rise up within me as a I praise God. I fully expect to speak with other tongues as You give me the utterance (Acts 2:4). In Jesus’ name Amen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are you Hungry For?

  1. Rick Stassi says:

    I am blessed sister. thank you. your heart for God is so evident
    rick

Leave a Reply

